On the Diet Train

After being in India and Thailand for the past 2 weeks and trying all the amazing food there was to offer I came back to Toronto needing to lose about 5 pounds. So this blog was perfectly timed to get back on track. Typically I run a very balanced diet 3 meals a day with one snack in the afternoon. In addition I utilize intermittent fasting daily where I finish eating around 4pm and do not eat until 8am the next morning. In addition with school and work it is always best for to do all my food prep on Sundays for the whole week then Saturday enjoy a day off when I relax with friends.

This week I made Teriyaki glazed chicken with citrus couscous and steamed vegetables for lunch and braised beef with roasted fingerling potatoes and asparagus for dinner. My breakfast is always oats and fruits depending on which fruit is on sale each week at Food Basics :D. This week it was blueberries which made a great carb loaded breakfast to charge my body for the day ahead of class to be at maximum alertness considering the dangerous environment of the kitchen.

Breakfast is 30g of rolled oats and 1 cup of fruit which in total is 300 calories, 45g of carbs 10g of protein, a days worth of Vitamin C and a good source of fibre.

Lunch for the week was 4 oz of chicken breast 40g of couscous and 100g of broccoli.

Ingredients

  •  1 Whole chicken cut into 8 pieces, skin removed
  • 1 cup soy sauce
  • 50g sugar
  • 50g mirin
  • zest and juice of one naval orange
  • zest and juice of one lemon
  • 200g of couscous
  • 1 cup of water
  • 400g of broccoli
  • salt to taste
  • pepper to taste

 

  • Dissolve sugar in soy sauce and mirin and reduce on low heat until a syrupy consistency do not let burn.
  • Glaze the chicken pieces and let marinate for 30 minutes.
  • Sear the chicken, until golden brown then transfer to the oven until 165C internal temperature
  • Bring the water, juice and zest to the boil, turn off the heat and add the couscous, cover and allow to simmer until all the water is absorbed.
  • Bring a large pot of water to the boil, season liberally with salt then blanch the broccoli and refresh.

Once everything was done I packaged it and was ready for me to just grab quickly as I was leaving home.

20161003_184436

The final dish I made for dinner for the week, a simple pot roast with roasted fingerling potatoes and asparagus. As always I tried to balance out my meals 4oz of braised beef, 100g of potatoes and asparagus, to provide a well rounded balance of carbs, protein and fats.

Braised Beef and Roasted Potatoes

  • 1 Beef Round Roast
  • 1L Beef Stock
  • 1/2  Carrot medium mirepoix
  • 1 Onion medium mirepoix
  • 1 Stalk Celery medium mirepoix
  • 250ml Red Wine
  • Olive oil
  • Salt
  • Black Pepper
  • 1 lb Fingerling Potatoes
  •  5 cloves Garlic
  • 2 sprigs thyme
  • 1lb Asparagus

 

  • Preheat oven to 250F. Season the roast liberally with salt and pepper then sear off each side until a good colour is achieved.
  • Remove the roast from the pan and brown the mirepoix, deglaze the pan with the red wine and reduce by half. Return the roast to the pan cover 3/4 with the stock, lid and cook in the oven for 2 1/2 hrs or until it starts to easily fall apart with a fork.
  • Coat the potatoes with olive oil salt black pepper, garlic and thyme and add to the oven until tender.
  • Bring a large pot of water to the boil season liberally with salt and blanch and refresh the asparagus.

 

Packaged and ready to be eaten as soon as I get home from school or work just needs to be reheated.

My snacks were always yogurt because they were light , easy to travel with and this week on sale. Perfect!.

During the week it was easy to adhere to this more balanced diet after returning from India and Thailand where the food was so abundant because I made the conscious decision to make sure the food was delicious. If the food tastes good and is good for you will not feel deprived. I did not feel cheated or in want of food throughout the week because of the balance of nutrients the fibre and complex carbs of each of my meals kept me fuller longer and I was alert and attentive throughout the week, even working long hours into the night.

The prep of my food earlier in the week also prevented me from being in the situation of being hungry and not having the time to cook. This is because the food was already cook so at no point did I need to cave and say go to Burger King to get something to eat.

By the end of the week it was a great week of food and I am ready this Sunday to do my meal prep for next week. Coming home and simply having to grab food from the fridge and heat it up was a blessing and it was basically like fast food but healthier and way tastier, I knew exactly what was in it since I made and portioned it. This Sunday I am ready to think of more recipes that I can make healthier or add a twist to it to keep things fresh and interesting.

The biggest piece of advice I can offer is to make sure the food tastes good, people assume that healthy food can only be salads or something dreadful in taste. However, healthy food can be made to taste delicious and the balance of the meal is more important than the content, once your meal fits into your lifestyle and provides you with the needs vitamins, minerals and nutrients you are set to go. IT also makes it easier on your mind when you aren’t constantly stressed by what to eat, which further emphasizes my point of prepping your food days in advance. It allows you to do all your thinking at once and not needing to come home after a long day and then have to think about what to cook and how long it may or may not take.

This choice was an easy one to make and I enjoyed it and will be glad to continue this for weeks and years to come.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

