Week 1: The Journey Begins

 

WP_20160502_18_54_25_Pro

My name is Ajani Taylor, I am a 24 year old chef in training at George Brown College in Canada.

I have wanted to be a chef every since I realized how food could make someone feel, it could make someone  who was sad feel happy… it could make someone happy be sad too haha. But I try my best not to put myself in that situation.

IMG_75461.jpg

I am not currently working in the industry, I am a home trained cook, learning from my parents especially my mom, grandparents and family. I have also had a great guinea pig in my sister Rashida who is very open to food…once there is no onion in it. My family is where I gained my love for food, making them happy with the food I prepared brought be so much joy, I knew it was what I wanted to do for the rest of my life.

My personal philosophy with regards to cooking is to make people think about and enjoy food, not just eat it for sustenance. To want to eat for the tastes and the enjoyment of the food put in front of them.

With this blog I hope to track my culinary journey here at school, as I hone my skills, be able to look back and reflect on how far I have come as a cook and eventually a chef. Also its a good place to store all my recipes.

One of the most influential quotes I’ve heard was one by Francois Minot “Anybody can make you enjoy the first bite of a dish, but only a real chef can make you enjoy the last.” Which tied in with my culinary philosophy I want people to enjoy food not just eat it for the nutrients it provides. Also why I wanted formal training, I want to be able to do that, make my customers, my family enjoy every bit of a dish more consistently.

A recent culinary blog I started reading( I never read them before taking theory of food sadly) is one by Rachel Rappaport, Coconut and Lime. The reason why I enjoy her blog is because it makes food approachable, many people are intimidated by food and she presents it in a way that allows you to share food with others. The recipes laid out are tasty but simple in nature allowing you to bring your family along for the cooking experience.  This is how I want my blog to be make food look exciting, delicious but accessible.

Tortellini with Pesto and Roasted Veggies | Cooking ClassyTaken 22.06.2016 by Jacklyn sourced from http://www.cookingclassy.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/04/tortellini_pesto_roasted_veggies.-1.jpg

For example the dish above from another blog I frequent called Cooking Classy, a simple delicious dish that looks so inviting and delicious. This is a perfect example of what I want my blog to represent.

So I hope you enjoy my food journey here in Toronto and around the world as I take the steps toward becoming a chef.

 

Leave a Reply

